Korean Studies Association of Southeast Asia (KoSASA)

Contact Us

Korea Research Initiatives
The University of New South Wales

Phone: +61 2 9385 4466
Fax: + 61 2 9385 5622
E-mail: kri@unsw.edu.au


KRI@UNSW supports postgraduate researchers by providing a variety of scholarships, ranging from annual stipends, living allowances and tuition fee costs, to travel scholarships and supplements. Scholarships are available to support both new and continuing postgraduate researchers.

KoSASA was founded in 2003 by KRI@UNSW and five top-tier national universities of four Southeast Asian countries (i.e. Thailand, Malaysia, Indonesia and Vietnam). Since then, it has expanded its network to comprise nine top-tier universities from eight Southeast Asian countries (adding Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and the Philippines).

KRI@UNSW played a pivotal role in foundation of the KoSASA together with UNSW Australia and Korean Government. Several years after foundation of KRI@UNSW, it was apparent that a non-political, academic organisation for contact, communication and scholarly activities among scholars in Southeast Asia concerned with the study of Korea was required to facilitate its development. This recognition was soon realised by KRI@UNSW leading the foundation and development of KoSASA. Ever since its inception, KRI@UNSW supported KoSASA as a joint secretariat role with KoSASA Secretariat in President’s institution. Through this collaboration, KRI@UNSW and KoSASA became a pioneer in developing Korean Studies in Southeast Asia, Korea and Australasia.

The key governance mechanism for KoSASA is the KoSASA Advisory Board which consists of the nine presidents of KoSASA member universities, a representative from KRI and the presidents of participating Korean Universities. A KoSASA Advisory Board meeting has been conducted annually since its inception. In September 2015, the meeting was held in Seoul. The next meeting will be held at the bi-annual 2016 KoSASA International Conference in Manila. The President & Vice-Chancellor of UNSW Australia, Professor Ian Jacobs has agreed to attend the KoSASA Advisory Board Meeting in Manila.

The president of KoSASA is elected by its Advisory Board. The Inaugural President of KoSASA was late Professor Le Van Quang, Vice Rector, the University of Social Sciences and Humanities, Hochiminh City, succeeded by Professor Vo Van Sen. The second to sixth presidents of KoSASA were; Professor A Hamid A Hadi, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, the University of Malaya, succeeded by Professor Mohd Amin Jalaludin; Professor Soottiporn Chittmittrapap, Vice President, Chulalongkorn University; Professor Sunardji SE, MM, Vice Rector of Universitas Indonesia; Professor Nguyen Van Khanh, Rector of University of Social Sciences and Humanities, Hanoi and Professor Mohd Hamdi Bin Abd Shukor, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Academic and International, University of Malaya. The current president of KoSASA is Mr. Alfred Pascual (the President of the University of the Philippines), where KRI@UNSW and KoSASA’s joint secretariat office also resides.

The primary activities of KoSASA involve the promotion of Korean Studies across Southeast Asia by conducting collaborative research activities and academic conferences. KRI@UNSW has offered access to this network to UNSW scholars to facilitate multidisciplinary research collaborations between UNSW and universities across Southeast Asia and Korea. For example, UNSW Canberra signed a memorandum of understanding with all KoSASA universities to provide PhD scholarship support to qualified applicants in Engineering, Science, Business and the Humanities. In July 2015 some eight scholarships were provided to eligible students who will commence their doctoral studies in UNSW Canberra from February 2016. it is proposed to make this scholarship round an annual event.

KRI is a joint secretariat of KoSASA Network. KoSASA is operated with two institutional working systems, Advisory Board and Executive Committee.

Advisory Board has been organised by representatives (president) of nine leading universities in eight Southeast Asian countries, and two member universities in Korea. This Board has a policy meeting annually for guiding direction of KoSASA.

Under this Board, Executive Committee has been organised by representatives of the eleven universities (respective faculty or institute of the university in promoting Korean Studies, eg. Deans of Social Sciences or Vice Rector in International Relations or Research). This Committee delivers international cooperation among member universities within the policy guidelines given by the Board.

Thus, KRI@UNSW works with these member universities at three levels consisting of individual academics, faculty/departmental and presidential/senior executive levels.

Prof. Pham Quang Minh        
(9th President, KoSASA)

Rector, University of Social Sciences and Humanities (USSH), Hanoi, Vietnam

Prof. Bundhit Eua-arporn

President, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand

Prof. Abdul Rahim Hashim     

Vice Chancellor, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Prof. Danilo L. Concepcion

President, The University of the Philippines, The Philippines

Prof. Ngo Thi Phuong Lan

Rector, University of Social Sciences and Humanities (USSH), Hochiminh City, Vietnam

Prof. Muhammad Anis

Rector, University of Indonesia, Indonesia

Prof. Chet Chealy

Rector, Royal University of  Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Prof. Somsy Gnophanxay

President, National University of Laos, Laos

Prof. Tin Win

Rector, Yangon University of Economics, Myanmar

Prof. Young Dal Cho

Seoul National University, Korea

Dr. Seung-Ho Kwon

Executive Director, Korea Research Institute, the University of New South Wales, Australia

Dr. Seung-Ho Kwon

Executive Director, Korea Research Institute, the University of New South Wales, Australia

Assoc. Prof. Hanafi Bin Hussin

Dean, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, University of Malaya, Malaysia

Assoc. Prof. Hoang Anh Tuan

Vice Rector, University of Social Sciences and Humanities, Hanoi, Vietnam

Professor Phan Thi Thu Hien

Dean, Department of Korean Studies, University of Social Sciences and Humanities, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Professor Prapin Manomaivibool

Director, Asian Research Centre, Chulalongkorn University, Thailand

Dr Adrianus L.G. Waworuntu

Dean, Faculty of Humanities, Universitas  Indonesia, Indonesia

Professor Gil S. Jacinto

Assistant Vice-President for Academic Affairs, Director, Office of Institutional Linkages, University of the Philippines, the Philippines

Assoc. Professor Bouadam Sengkhamkhoutlavong

Director, Asia Research Center, National University of Laos, Laos

Professor Oum Ravy

Vice Rector for International Relations, Royal University of Phnom Penh, Cambodia

Professor Nilar Myint Htoo

Pro Rector, Yangon University of Economics, Myanmar

Professor Jae Young Han

Department of Korean Language and Literature, Hanshin University, Korea